top of page

Schärli - Moreira - Feigenwinter

Juarez Moreira - guitar
Hans Feigenwinter - piano
Peter Schärli - trumpet

portrait

“Juarez Moreira is one of the best guitarists of all time... and also a gifted composer! His playing takes me on a trip to paradise.” - Milton Nascimento

Piano, acoustic guitar, trumpet: the line-up is bold, the musicians involved are classy. With this trio, trumpeter and composer Peter Schärli continues his musical line of quiet tones, reduction and transparency. Original compositions will be played by all three musicians. Anyone who knows the qualities of Schärli's projects and how well they are anchored in the audience can expect a top-class experience. 

With the Brazilian guitarist Juarez Moreira, Schärli has been able to sign an outstanding musician. Moreira fills large concert halls in Brazil. He recently performed with the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra at the sold-out Lincoln Center in New York. Moreira has worked with numerous well-known musicians, including Maria Bethânia, Gal Costa, Milton Nascimiento, Wagner Tiso, Lô Borges, Toninho Horta and Paulo Moura. His compositions are actively played by well-known names from the current Brazilian scene.

Hans Feigenwinter from Basel brings his great melodic ear and his brilliant playing technique to the trio. The pianist values clarity and comprehensibility in his compositions, which he also explores with his own trio. Feigenwinter's sparkling cascades testify to an almost inexhaustible imagination. As a long-time sideman in the Peter Schärli Special Sextet featuring Glenn Ferris, he is very familiar with the trumpeter and composer's musical ideas.

In the 30 years of his professional career, Peter Schärli has brought his music more and more urgently to the point with a sure sense. Their gently melancholic tone combines with powerful exploits and concise improvisations. Schärli is a guarantee of continuity. 

Schärli-Moreira-Feigenwinter's tours in 2013, 2015 and 2018 took these three musicians to festivals in Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Germany, Brazil and Bolivia.  

 

Sandro Stoll

The trio Schärli-Moreira-Feigenwinter offered one and a half hours of pure beauty yesterday at the 29th Schaffhausen Jazz Festival 2018. From the first note, this trio breathes like a single body and Schärli's solo opens up the very large space for the first time this evening. Everything is incredibly relaxed, even in the most complex passages. And no matter the tempo: there's endless time. Schärli-Moreira-Feigenwinter maintain this high level for an hour and a half. And perhaps the astonishing thing about this evening is this: the beauty happens to the three of them almost casually.

Sandro Stoll, Schaffhauser News, May 26, 2018, 29th Schaffhausen Jazz Festival 2018

bottom of page

top of page

Schärli - Moreira - Feigenwinter

Juarez Moreira - Gitarre
Hans Feigenwinter - Piano
Peter Schärli - Trompete

Porträt

„Juarez Moreira ist einer der besten Gitarristen aller Zeiten... und auch ein begnadeter Komponist! Sein Spiel nimmt mit mich mit auf einen Trip ins Paradies.“ - Milton Nascimento

Klavier, akustische Gitarre, Trompete: Die Besetzung ist kühn, die beteiligten Musiker haben Klasse. Mit diesem Trio setzt der Trompeter und Komponist Peter Schärli seine musikalische Linie der leisen Töne, der Reduktion und Transparenz fort. Gespielt werden Eigenkompositionen von allen drei Musikern. Wer die Qualitäten von Schärlis Projekten kennt und um seine gute Verankerung im Publikum weiss, darf sich auf ein hochkarätiges Erlebnis gefasst machen. 

Mit dem brasilianischen Gitarristen Juarez Moreira hat Schärli einen herausragenden Musiker verpflichten können. Moreira füllt in Brasilien grosse Konzertsäle. Kürzlich begeisterte er mit dem Orpheus Chamber Orchestra im ausverkauften Lincoln Center in New York. Moreira hat mit zahlreichen bekannten Musikern gearbeitet, so mit Maria Bethânia, Gal Costa, Milton Nascimiento, Wagner Tiso, Lô Borges, Toninho Horta und Paulo Moura. Seine Kompositionen werden von bekannten Namen aus der aktuellen Brasil-Szene rege gespielt.

Der Basler Hans Feigenwinter bringt sein grosses melodisches Ohr und seine brillante Spieltechnik in das Trio. Der Pianist legt in seinen Kompositionen Wert auf Klarheit und Nachvollziehbarkeit, die er auch mit seinem eigenen Trio auslotet. Feigenwinters perlende Kaskaden zeugen von einer schier unerschöpflichen Imagination. Als langjähriger Sideman im Peter Schärli Special Sextet featuring Glenn Ferris ist er bestens vertraut mit den musikalischen Ideen des Trompeters und Komponisten.

In den 30 Jahren seiner professionellen Karriere hat Peter Schärli seine Musik mit sicherem Gespür immer dringlicher auf den Punkt gebracht. Ihr sanft melancholischer Grundton verbindet sich mit kraftvollen Exploits und konzisen Improvisationen. Schärli ist ein Garant für Kontinuität. 

Die Tourneen von Schärli-Moreira-Feigenwinter in den Jahren 2013, 2015 und 2018 führten diese drei Musiker an Festivals in der Schweiz, der Tschechischen Republik, nach Deutschland, Brasilien und Bolivien.  

 

Sandro Stoll

Eineinhalb Stunden purer Schönheit hat das Trio Schärli-Moreira-Feigenwinter gestern am 29. Schaffhauser Jazzfestival 2018 geboten. Vom ersten Ton weg atmet dieses Trio wie ein einziger Körper und Schärlis Solo öffnet zum ersten Mal an diesem Abend den ganz grossen Raum. Unglaublich relaxed ist das alles, selbst in den komplexesten Passagen. Und egal bei welchem Tempo: Diese Band hat unendlich viel Zeit. Das hohe Niveau halten Schärli-Moreira-Feigenwinter eineinhalb Stunden lang. Und das Erstaunliche an diesem Abend ist vielleicht dies: Die Schönheit passiert den dreien fast beiläufig.

Sandro Stoll, Schaffhauser Nachrichten, 26. Mai 2018, 29. Schaffhauser Jazzfestival 2018

bottom of page